Joy, Pain, Comfort, Counsel

Having come to the end of this academic year, I just took a few minutes to think about how the entire year had gone.

To me, this whole year has been a period when I went through a lot of tears. The worst part was, I went through it all alone. I cried so much that I sometimes felt my brain would burst out, yet I shared it with no one around, for I did not find anyone to do so.

But then, there was hope! God helped me to turn to Him every time I faced something. And each time He proved Himself so compassionate, understanding and loving, no matter what kind of problem I went to Him with and how many times I went to Him for the same reason.

My God spoke to me every single time, through His Word, right into my situation. There were times I was wonder-struck at the way He spoke the exact thing that I needed and the way He did it every time without fail.

Of course He is God, who knows me inside out, even the deepest secrets in my heart.

When I was totally down, His word alone was my delight. When I thought I’m done and there is no hope for me, He filled me with peace and joy that was so beyond understanding. He not only consoled me, turning my sorrows into joy, but also counselled me each time through His Word and showed me the way out.

There was a time when I felt so pressed by all the work that I had to complete in the college, the exams that were like a terror at that time, the hurts from people around and other small problems adding fuel to these. I really thought I was going to go mad. But His Word sustained me. At that time, God just told me one thing – to rejoice in the glorious riches that He has for me in Heaven, which will never perish and not to worry about these earthly problems which will disappear very soon. (1 Peter 1. 3-6)

His Word turned my focus, from my problems to Him, and filled my heart with the same peace that filled me every time I went to Him.

Today I thank God for everything that I went through, for through it all, He made me understand the power of the Word of God.

This evening, as I was telling one of my friends that I went through a lot of tears this year, she could hardly believe it, for she never felt I was going through any pain. But the truth was, I did go through it. But God, through His Word made me smile in situations when it was not possible a bit and counselled me as to what I had to do. That’s what kept me going.

The psalmist says in Psalm 119.24, “Your statutes are my delight, they are my counsellors.”

How true this verse has been in my life!

Only His Word can bring life when we feel dead, delight when we are depressed and counsel when we are directionless. Praise be to God!

Have you been through such situations? How did God help you out? Share your views and experiences in the comments section below!

