Real Intimacy

I love to read and I make it point to read every day. I read books, blogs, magazines, and whatever I find interesting and drawing towards Jesus. It’s all because I wanted a real intimacy with Him.

Some of the online magazines that I read were totally amazing, and they influenced me so much. I could see a lot of changes in my behaviour and habits. I also felt drawn to Jesus most of the time.

Reading about Christ was even (in a way) an inspiration for me to start blogging.

But it was not long before I started pondering over having a real intimacy with Jesus and ended up learning a lesson.

At one point of time, I developed this liking towards playing guitar. I did not particularly want to become a famous guitarist or so. I just wanted to play guitar so that I can sing and praise God in my personal worship time.

Without taking any guitar classes, I started digging into the internet for every free online guitar tutorial possible. I downloaded chords, read about how to hold a guitar, how to hold a pick and watched videos of people strumming, picking and playing vigorously. I tried to learn playing guitar from them.

Today I am able to play guitar in my own personal worship time (though I don’t play publicly) but there was much more that I had to do than all the downloading, reading and watching of videos.

I had to practice.

Yes, I had to spend time with my guitar for hours and hours to be able to play even a single song. I still remember the time when I grabbed my guitar and started playing even if I had five minutes time before leaving to college.

I put all my heart, energy and time into this instrument to be able to start playing it, even though it was painful and difficult for me.

Having intimacy with Christ is not just about reading books about Him, listening to sermons, listening to gospel songs, or watching Christian movies and videos.

All of these sure help in our walk with God. But, real intimacy is when we spend solid time with the King of Kings personally.

We can have an intimate relationship with Jesus, when we take time to know about Him reading and meditating on the word of God, allowing the Holy Spirit to work in our hearts and praying to Him.

King David in the Bible tells in Psalms 27:4 “One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple”.

He desired to dwell in the house of God where the presence of God was.

My friend, if you’re longing to have a real intimacy with Jesus just shut the noises of the world and spend time alone with Jesus.

You might be doing a lot of other things for God, but God wants you to be with Him, in His presence.

Make it a point to spend long hours with your creator early in the morning, the best hours of the day with the lover of your soul, and dwelling in His presence the entire day. You will taste the sweetness of having intimacy with Christ.

